+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: After one beta weekend down...

Hybrid View

After one beta weekend down...

I've been playing a cleric in Rift for almost 2 years. I don't have any alt's. All I ever wanted to play was cleric, and due to the versatility of the cleric souls, it was all I ever needed to play. So as with everyone else in Rift I was excited to see all the new stuff coming in 2.0...especially what new soul they would give us. I anticipated the new soul with a good bit of apprehension. I mean, we could already tank, dps, or heal as good or better than any other class so what could a new soul possibly provide. I figured it would be some sort of support role.

Man was I wrong...sorta...

When I first got in, like everyone else, I instantly looked at the defiler soul. Yep it's a semi-support soul, and I started thinking about ways I could incorporate it into roles, but then I started making my roles. That is when I noticed that we didn't get one new soul...we got EIGHT new souls. The only thing left in the old souls that was the same were the Purge and Cleanses. Ugh. I spent the first hour to two hours in the game simply trying to figure out what the many soul changes were...and they were numerous. It's going to take several hours of testing to tweak the new roles.

Once I started playing, I found that warden healing for the new dungeon is...WOW! (no pun intended). Purifier MT healing is still super powerful...but it is still only good for MT healing unless your spamming the aoe shield. While our dps is lacking compared to the other classes, I still had no trouble soloing PvE world content (except those lvl 51 elite invasions...those things hit like a MAC truck). Icar is dead...and that sucks. Like most clerics, I loved the versatility of the many different icar specs. I didn't get a chance ot tank, but the soul is there. Next Beta I will put it to the test to see how it does.