+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: A plea regarding Mage DPS rotations for Storm Legion

A plea regarding Mage DPS rotations for Storm Legion

I'd just like to ask Zervik to give some consideration to Mage rotations when balancing things come Storm Legion, and try to ensure that the DPS rotations are a little more forgiving this time around.

I know I know, a whole bunch of people are going to be up in arms right now, telling me I am a noob, telling me that it isn't that hard to play well, telling me that we don't want boring one button macro rotations etc etc.

I'm the Mage class leader for my guild, I can play Defilemancer, I choose to play PyroLock because mistakes are significantly more forgiving and as a raid leader who is paying attention to a dozen other things I'd rather do PyroLock well than play Defilemancer badly. So I can play the Mage rotations in their current state, I've broke 4.4 - 4.5k on Ituziel (before Icewatch became lag ridden anyway) with 36/30.

But I also know that there is a shortage of mages right now, at least on the EU servers. My own guild is crying out for mages that can pull decent DPS, and I know that ParaBellum and Envy, two better guilds than my own, are also desperately seeking mages, and have been for some time.

I believe that the reason is that the current best two DPS specs are just a little too complex. Don't get my wrong I want some complexity, in fact I find the PyroLock spec to be perfect for me, but I think that for a lot of players have trouble pulling decent numbers. Let's face it, the old Stormcaller rotation and the Defilemancer rotation are the two hardest rotations ever to appear in RIFT, and they are both Mage rotations. Sure we can achieve the best DPS with them, but if you're not able to pull them off you end up subpar even though your skill level isn't that bad, the rotations are just insane.